Selwyn Township receives $112,000 towards its Trent-Severn Trail Town – Lakefield!

The Township of Selwyn has received approx. $112,000 grant from the Rural Economic Development (RED) program through the Province of Ontario for the “Lakefield – a Trent Severn Trail Town (TSTT)” project, which will see the enhancement of the public realm within the Village Core of Lakefield through various streetscaping and landscaping projects. This includes the renovation of the former Lakefield Scouts building to include an accessible public washroom, installation of decorative light standards and various street furnishings; and the restoration of a public art mural. 

In a typical year, Lakefield welcomes many visitors and relies heavily on revenue generated from these visitors. By enhancing the public realm within Lakefield’s core area, this project will provide a significant boost to the tourism sector throughout the region. Upon completion, Lakefield will have positioned itself as one of the most popular destinations along the TSTT route, as well as throughout Peterborough & the Kawarthas. Communities throughout the region will benefit from the economic growth driven through the results of this project. Creating a welcoming and positive guest experience is vital for return visits and encourages visitors to explore other communities in the area. 

“This funding comes at a crucial time as the COVID-19 pandemic has drastically reduced the number of visitors to our communities and has had a profound economic impact on local businesses across the Township. By enhancing the streetscape of Lakefield with a view to four-season appeal, this will help to bring in year-round tourism while boosting the Township’s economy.” – Andy Mitchell, Mayor of Selwyn Township

Ontario’s Rural Economic Development (RED) program provides cost-share funding to support activities that create strong rural communities in Ontario, and opens doors to rural economic development. 

The Trent-Severn Trail Towns program, launched by Kawarthas Northumberland (RTO8), is a designation program open to communities within two kilometers of the Trent-Severn Waterway (TSW). It recognizes the TSW to be one of the region’s primary assets and visitor attractions. It is modeled on successful trail town programs in the United States and has been adapted to meet the needs of communities that serve TSW visitors. 

For more information, please contact: Angela Chittick, Manager of Corporate Services/Clerk
(705) 292-9507 ext. 221